Ah, those naughty phishers just won’t let up. This past week I got an email from a “wAccounts@VerizonWireless.com,” telling me my cell phone bill in excess of $1,000 was “ready” for payment. Had I been an actual Verizon Wireless customer, and a heavy cell phone user, this might have actually been a convincing forgery.
The language, graphics and fonts were spot-on. They even paid the courtesy of including a link to the real company’s privacy policy. (How considerate!) As a trained editor, I can usually sniff out such fakes from a mile away because of misspelled words, odd punctuation, or other discrepancies that would never make it past a major corporation’s communications department. To the untrained, unobservant, or simply harried eye, it’s easy to see how these legit-looking lures can (and do) make a killing.
Were this a company that I actually did business with, the phishers might have reeled me in. There was at least one tell-tale mistake they made, however, that screamed “fraud.” The hover-over address that appeared in my browser showed a United Kingdom domain name. Nothing against our fine friends across the pond, but it just seemed highly suspicious that a U.S. company would re-direct its customers there online. (See screen shots).
The point? As they used to say on a certain cop drama remembered fondly by those of us “of a certain age,” be careful out there.
Be sure you don’t miss a free download, exclusive video, or sneak peek at what’s going on behind the scenes at Digital Delta Media. Register to have the monthly toolkit newsletter delivered right to your inbox, at no cost!
And join me, Akweli, on the social network of your choice – just click on the icons at the top right of this page!












